Posted on Jun 29, 2017
Outgoing president Michelle Lavallee recapped her year in office and incoming president David Pfeifle rolled out changes and plans for the club when the Rotary Club of Downtown Sioux Falls met Monday, June 26.

The leadership transition is the centerpiece of an inspiring program celebrating the club’s achievements as one of the 20 largest Rotary clubs in North America, its relevancy and its commitment to improved member engagement and to impactful community service.

Milt Husby, the club’s senior member, was honored for his 60 years as a Rotarian and as a long-time club secretary.  Rotarian and South Dakota Hall of Fame inductee Larry Ritz, who died on April 8 at age 97, will be remembered with presentation of the inaugural Lawrence “Larry” Ritz Rotarian of the Year Award.
Retiring club secretary Dianne Metli and retiring club treasurer Holly Brunick were recognized. A new executive director, hired to assume their duties and to work with a bookkeeping service, was announced. 

Lavallee’s “Year in Review” include a progress report on accomplishments and work still to be done.  Pfeifle introduced new board members and committee chairs, explained a revised organizational structure to enhance membership and changes regarding the Holiday Inn luncheons.

Downtown Rotary’s Centennial Fund, supported with gifts from members, made a $12,000 donation to the Sioux Empire Network of Care.

The meeting also featured a photo show depicting highlights of Rotary’s past program year, July 2016 through June 2017.
Reminder:  NO Rotary Meeting until Monday, July 10, 2017.     
                             HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!
Program Highlights June 26, 2016:
  • Michelle recognized Dianne Metli and Holly Brunick, retiring Secretary & Treasurer
  • Milt Husby was honored for his 60 years of service in the club with a Rotary International Proclamation & a Governor’s Proclamation declaring June 26, 2017 as Milt Husby Day.
  • Jack Marsh was the recipient of the first ever Larry Ritz Rotarian of the Year Award.  His name was placed on a perpetual plaque and he was given a gift.
  • Outgoing 5610 District Governor Ed Jacobson was honored with a plaque from the Club.
  • A $12,000 check was presented to the Sioux Empire Network of Care, the last recipient of the Club's Centennial Fund for this year.
  • Michelle showed a Power Point presentation on the statistics, accomplishments & work yet to be done within the Club.
  • Incoming President David Pfeifle presented outgoing President Michelle Lavallee with her Past President pins, plaque, and gift.  Michelle presented David with his President pins.
  • President David Pfeifle spoke on his focus for the upcoming year including introducing:
  • New Executive Director, Amy Kusmak and bookkeeping service,  Premier Bookkeeping were announced
  • New Board Members/Committee Chairs
  • New organizational structure
  • ACH = Paying dues online
  • Holiday Inn new menu; lunch cost will go to $15
  • Holiday Inn now takes credit/debit cards at the Greet Table
July 10th Program:
Hot Topics in the Health Department - Jill Franken, Public Health Director & Mary Michaels, Public Health Prevention Coordinator